Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

+1

New to the forum. Just picked up a 2001 XLT 1200.

Hey guys, I have been lurking for a couple years now and finally decided to join and make my first post.

My wife and I have been riding a pair of WaveRunner III 650's for the past 7 years. Love them, they certainly are not the fastest but they are fun and get us out on the water.

Last season I popped the second engine in the ski my wife normally rides, leading me to believe that I have to switch over to premix due to a faulty oil delivery system.

Anyway, instead of putting a new engine in that one right now I decided to go on the lookout for a bigger, faster machine. After combing the listings for a couple weeks I locked in on an 01 XLT1200 that was only about 20 miles away. Met with the guy and settled in a price. Needless to say I am pumped about doubling my speed and adding towing capabilities.

After researching it sounds like I need to do a few things to ensure this machines longevity. WaveEater clips, oil line clamps and a D plate.

The previous owner had the carbs rebuilt by a reputable local shop so they should be good to go. He decided to repair some small nicks and repaint the ski. I just bought a cover for it as I will be storing it outdoors with my other skis. I will be moving this one over to my tandem trailer with the working WR3. The busted ski will be relegated to the single trailer until I can get it fixed

I am in need of some suggestions on a few things I want to pick up for the XLT.

The vinyl needs to replaced at some point soon to match the new paint and there is a small tear on the 3rd seat. I have my eye on either the Blacktip or Hydroturf covers. Anyone have an opinion on a better way to go?

Previous owner ran Quicksilver oil in it. Any reason to switch?