Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Can someone help a newbie?

Hello all!
    Like many others I'm new to this whole forum thing. I recently purchased a 92 650 sl 3 cylinder jet ski. I bought it for $100 knowing that it wasn't operational. I know, it was a silly move but I wanted a toy I could tinker with. The guy said he had it turning over last year but it wasn't getting spark. He did a compression check on all 3 cylinders. The outside ones had good compression and the center one had mediocre compression, not 100% on the numbers there. A friend and I started to tear into the motor. All 3 pistons and rings looked good, the cylinders looked good. Hopefully I can have some pics up tomorrow for you guys. We pulled the motor out and found the crank case had a crack in it. I'm assuming from nobody draining the water out of it? I'm pretty sure its a water cooled motor. I could be wrong lol. I guess what I'm trying to get at, is this ski worth saving? it needs a few hundred bucks in it, I could probably save some money and heartache by buying a complete motor but at the same time I could probably take that money and buy a running ski or something very close. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This guy just wants to hit the water!

Sorry! I bought it for $200 lol

Sooo...how much for the 780? stimpsonjcat's Avatar
    +1
    New reman engine from SBT is $600.

http://www.shopsbt.com/polaris-jet-s...1994-1995.html

If you rebuild it yourself you may be able to just buy the busted parts off ebay and reuse much of the rest.

Full gasket set is $100, so if all other parts are good I'd figure $150 for carb kits (3), $100 for gaskets and find a case on ebay for $50 or so, and you're up to $500 invested.