Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

02 seadoo gti any good?

Im a newbie to the pwc and this site, just trying to gain some knowledge about a certain machine,
    Currently looking at a 2002 seadoo with the 720. Are there any major problems to look at, it apparently have 120 hours. Is that a lot? I appreciate any help in advance
    thanks

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    welcome aboard GH!

The 720 seadoo is a pretty reliable motor and great on gas. Good ski to enter the sport with.

Hours..letssseeee..

the math

ski is 13 years old
    ski was used on average 10 hours a year

what do you think?..after all you are looking at a 13 year old ski.

more important is overall condition.

To avoid buying a skunk, find the local shop and pay them for an inspection.

if the owner of the ski balks..move on to something else, he's got something to hide
    \
    there are plenty of "buying a used ski checklists" floating around.

if the ski looks clean, it will likely be a good buy, but $75 or so for a professional inspection could save you some big headaches.

can the owner take you for a short ride? That's another way to smoke out a bad deal.

at the very least, make sure the ENGINE STARTS. Do not accept any excuses

Owner said a water test is available no problem. I never asked asked. About brining in anywhere may be a good idea. They are ok with me compression testing. What should compression be? How fast should this machine get up to speed ? Thanks for your help!

+1
    Top speed on that machine is only around 46mph BUT it's a great reliable beginner machine that doesn't cost a fortune to repair.

5. +1 by:

+1
    I wouldn't recommend it. Stay away from those 2-stroke machines. Low hours or not. Get a 4-stroke machine and you'll be much happier, and will have it much longer in the water. We just got rid of the last 2 of our 2-strokes and the trouble-free riding can't be beat!

Work: GTA ------------ ----------------- Play: Georgian Bay