Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    oikonomoupetros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thessaloniki, Greece
    Posts
    452
    +1
    66

    Vtech Datalogger and EGT ...can they be connected?

    So, i am trying to install me AFR and EGT sensors to the vtech datalogger.
    I see the connection for the Wideband sensor on the datalogger, but what about the egt sensor? Is there any way i can connect it to the logger? Is it unnecessary?
    Should i keep the EGT organ on my jetski mirror ?


  2. #2
    boost junkie skidoochris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Davison, Mi
    Posts
    4,683
    +1
    516
    if your afr and timing are in the safe zone then its not going to help much
    you may be able to add one sensor to the logger but I would bet no way to add three

  3. #3
    GasResearch-VT.SE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,171
    +1
    207
    You can add 2 sensors.... ask michel@vtech.se for correct loom. Unless you already have?

  4. #4
    spouk3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Posts
    649
    +1
    30
    The Vtech datalogger is not already monitoring this parameter?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EGT.png 
Views:	89 
Size:	54.8 KB 
ID:	360310

    !! No comments about my AFR, i'm waiting for my VT1100 injectors

  5. #5
    oikonomoupetros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thessaloniki, Greece
    Posts
    452
    +1
    66
    I have the loom which accepts one sensor.
    I ll use the wideband to begin with.

  6. #6
    GasResearch-VT.SE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,171
    +1
    207
    EGT is good for monitoring individual combustion temps if you have it setup.

    But you can see in the logger the ignition advance and retard for each cylinder, so you can see if you have un-balanced combustion for some reason.

  7. #7
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,540
    +1
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by spouk3 View Post
    The Vtech datalogger is not already monitoring this parameter?
    Technically, yes. The logger does see EGT coming off of the ECU (Bosch) but the EGT that is coming from ECU is only noise. The BRP engineers left that data stream on the ECU for when they use it during pre-production testing. Don't bother looking at it, the data is dead.

  8. #8
    spouk3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Posts
    649
    +1
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Sanfish View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by spouk3 View Post
    The Vtech datalogger is not already monitoring this parameter?
    Technically, yes. The logger does see EGT coming off of the ECU (Bosch) but the EGT that is coming from ECU is only noise. The BRP engineers left that data stream on the ECU for when they use it during pre-production testing. Don't bother looking at it, the data is dead.
    OK, good to know...

  9. #9
    GasResearch-VT.SE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,171
    +1
    207

    Vtech Datalogger and EGT ...can they be connected?

    Actually egt is from a real sensor in the water box.

    Depends which pid you are talking about I guess. There is simulated pre cooling egt pid also.

  10. #10
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,540
    +1
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by GasResearch-VT.SE View Post
    Actually egt is from a real sensor in the water box.

    Depends which pid you are talking about I guess. There is simulated pre cooling egt pid also.
    The sensor in the waterbox is actually pre-labeled as "exhaust temp" and there is a separate label called "EGT." All due respect but EGT isn't the sensor from waterbox.

    In the screenshot he posted it clearly says EGT. Look at the graph on the right and you will see the scale of the temp varies from 470C degrees to 647C degrees (or 878F to 1197F). If waterbox sensor was that high he would have a hole in the hull where the waterbox sits

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2001 gp1200r rebuild. 66v and 66e can they be used
    By Jwhswamp in forum Yamaha Projects & Build Threads
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2014, 03:33 AM
  2. Polaris Virage parts....Where can they be purchased?
    By burkeorama in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 08:10 PM
  3. Rave valve plastic piston and cover, were can they be had?
    By crashem in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 07:21 PM
  4. Oil injector lines 97 700slt can they be crossed
    By crashem in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2007, 02:59 PM
  5. 785 pro stock pipes....can they be modified?
    By rgard32 in forum Polaris PWC Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-31-2007, 11:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •