+1

01 GP 1200R Exhaust Warning

I am an extreme newbie to this site and PWC's so please bare with me and thanks in advance... I bought an 01 GP 1200R completely stock from what I was told. It ran fine on the test drive. We took it out this weekend and the the exhaust warning flashed at least 3 times within maybe an hours time. I would press the mode button to silence the alarm and ease back to the dock and cut the ski off. It would not come on again after restarting and running but then 20 min later it does it again. I've read on here about exhaust temps and other things but mine just said exhaust. I'm asking is that what this is and if so what do I need to do to fix it? Thanks!!!

+1
    Very common.

You need to replace the OEM catalytic converter with a D-Plate and add the temp sensor chip. The converter probably came apart. Make sure to pull the exhaust and remove any pieces of the cat that may have broken off and went into the rest of the exhaust and water box.

D-Plate: http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...oducts_id=1119

Temp sensor chip: http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...roducts_id=118

3. +1 by:

+1
    Thanks for the quick response. Is this something that's fairly easy to do or does it need to be done by a professional? I'm not a mechanic by no means but I'm not scared to try. I'm just not familiar at all with boats or pwc's.

+1