Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Oil pump question

I'm new to this and I just bought a 96 Kawasaki 1100 xzi. One of my first questions I asked him after he cranked it up was, is there anything I should know about and he said na, just have a baby on the way and looking to sell it. I asked him about the oil and he said yep, that's where the oil goes and that's where the gas goes. So anyways, I knew I had to do a few things to get it going because it is used so I wasn't expecting perfect. First thing I found was a cracked fuel filter, changed that, then when on to the boat ramp and cautiously went threw some testing like leaks, crank up and repeat. Ran for about ten minutes. Water was choppy so I went to another location where it was a little smoother. Ran it for another ten minutes. When I got back to the house, it had oil in the haul. Found that it was coming from apparently looked like short hoses coming the oil pump. This is when I started to think, damn I bet he pre-mixed his own oil. I hope I didn't mess it up. Drug it to the mechanic today so he can do his compression test. My question is, should I go ahead and route lines to the carburetors and crankcase or keep on running pre-mixed?

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    welcome to gh!

you'll find folks on both sides of the fence on the issue of oil injection.

One factor you must investigate is the condition of the oil pump drive bearing, which is part of the stator cover if memory serves. I recall water leaks would ruin those bearing the oil pump would stop and then the engine. You should confirm that the bearing is good. Just pull the stator cover.

obvious your pump is pumping.

The seller needs a stern word or two if the ski was premixed and he didn't mention that. Pointing to the oil tank tells me that he was using injection, and perhaps the ski was repaired and the oil lines not hooked up.