Thread: Newbie Question

Newbie Question

Hi everyone,

I just inherited a Polaris 1200 Virage Txi. It's got 75 hours on the clock. It looks pretty new. I'm in Australia so finding parts or someone to work on it will be absolutely impossible so I'm going to have to do it myself. I quite enjoy mucking around with it and it didn't cost me anything. However I'm an economist by trade and if the jet ski had anyway of knowing this it would be truly scared.

I read through as much as I could find on the forum and started off by changing the fuel lines as they were the great tempo ones. I only changed out two sections between the 1st and 2nd injectors as when I removed it they looked totally fine. We don't have ethanol in the fuel in Australia so I guess this is why there OK.

The ski was stored at a factory and probably hadn't been ridden for many years. It stopped working one day and was parked. At some point the factory manager, who fancies himself as mechanic but is probably worse than me, had a fiddle with it. When I took it he strongly suggested that I take the heads off and make sure it wasn't corroded. I wasn't going to and thought I'd just compression test it but then I though if there was something in there it would go up and down when I turned it over and could do damage so I decided to take the heads off and have a look inside. The water bar came off no problem, then the injector (I was very careful with the injector). I then started undoing the head bolts. The first 5 started to come off no problem but the last one was stuck fast. It start to come out with an awful lot of force, but as it came out it was coming out at an angle. This scared me so I tightened it all back up and put it back together.