Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

95 kawasaki ZXI 900 not running right

Hey everyone, I am new to the PWC world, I am adding it to my boating world. I recently got a pair of 95 Kawasaki jet skis, one is a STS 750 that runs great and other than the trim problems it is great, I also got a ZXI 900 that looks amazing for the year but I feel I have some problems with it and could use some help. the 900 would start out of the water and sounded good but would not stay idling so I took off the carbs and cleaned them. they didn't look to bad, there were some clogged jets and one had the filter completely clogged, put them back on and took it to the water. it started right up and idled great, I went to give it some gas and it wanted to die so I feathered it a little and off it went like a bat out of hell, way faster than the 750. I let off and came back to idle and then the same thing again taking off. after a little time it just would not get going from idle, it just wanted to die with gas, then it died, had to get towed. as I was being towed I kept trying to start it so I choked it and it started but didn't keep running, I assume because it was choked. I have dealt with carbs in the past and this seams like it is a carb problem. when I cleaned them I could not tell if the diaphragms were good. also it is blowing oil out of the exhaust, not sure if carbs could cause that. thank you so much for your help.

Welcome to the forum, definitely sounds like a carby problem.
    Hoping you haven't created a engine problem by towing it.
    Water coming the cooling line from the jet unit can flood the exhaust and make it into the engine via the exhaust port.
    So, plugs out, wind it over and see it it spits any water out at you. This would be a good time to do a compression test, a process of elimination, then back to those carbies if all else is well.

+1
    Welcome aboard, JBM14!